It’s Ramadan-a-rama!

   It’s Ramadan, the Islamic holy month, and the Muslim student association on campus has this thing called Fast-A-Day, where they encourage non-Muslim students to — wait for it — fast for a day, from sunrise to sunset. Then at sunset, they host a party over at the on-campus park with lots of yummy Middle Eastern food. 
   One of the Muslim students in my department approached me about trying this (of course, he suckered me in with the promise of free Middle Eastern home-cooking) and, responding to my doubt whether I could go a whole day without eating or drinking, he suggested I do what they do with the little kids: have them fast for half the day, or as long as they can. So, that’s what I’m doing. I had a spoonful of peanut butter and a cup of coffee at 6:00 this morning, a little after sunrise (sorry, Allah, I overslept), and I’ll be breaking my fast with a Veggie Delite sandwich from Subway at noon (I can’t think about the sandwich too much or I start to salivate).
   I was doing pretty good until about thirty minutes ago. That’s when the light-headedness started. Then the reaction time started to slow down significantly. Now, everything is a little vague and fuzzy and, in moments of clarity, I wonder why I agree to do things like this on a whim. What’s blowing my mind a bit is that Muslims do this for the entire month of Ramadan. The whole month! Jesus Christ!

Aagghh! Now I’m salivating again! I swear I had another post to write here but then the fasting thing . . . and . . . *gurgle*. . . . 

2 responses to “It’s Ramadan-a-rama!

  1. And I already had the dizziness. I just couldn’t do it.

  2. They didn’t, by any chance, serve that sweet lamb in JC’s arms, did they?

Leave a Reply

